What is Schools of Choice?

Huron Valley Schools is a Schools of Choice district. Under Schools of Choice Section 105, Huron Valley Schools may enroll students from another school district within Oakland County providing the student meets the application guidelines.

Schools of Choice Section 105c, allows Huron Valley Schools to enroll students from school districts outside of Oakland County in a contiguous Intermediate School District (ISD) such as Genesee, Lapeer, Livingston, Macomb, Washtenaw & Wayne Counties providing the student meets the application guidelines.

2018-2019 School Year Schools of Choice:

Huron Valley Schools applications for the 2018-19 school year will be available February 1, 2018 through September 7, 2018 for grades K-9 with the exception of Country Oaks Elementary grades 1st - 5th which will not be accepting applications.

Please Note: Not every building will have space available in all grade levels.

Once accepted, students may remain in Huron Valley Schools until graduation if the student complies with all guidelines for schools of choice. Parents of schools of choice students are expected to provide transportation to and from school.

PDF DocumentHVS - Schools of Choice 2018-19 Application

2018-2019 School Year - International Academy (IA) West Applications:

Unlimited 105 (Oakland County students from districts that are NOT part of the consortium agreement) and 105c (resides outside Oakland County) applications for the 2018-2019 school year are being accepted for grades 9 -12 for the International Academy. Applications will be available February 1, 2018 until August 29, 2018. The Schools of Choice application must be submitted with the International Academy West application.

Enrollment must be completed by August 31, 2018. If enrollment is not completed by August 31, 2018 the space for your child will be forfeited.

The 'IA West application' must accompany the 'IA Schools of Choice Application' (listed above). For the 'IA West application', please contact the IA West main office at 248-676-2735.

We can accept applications from school districts that are NOT part of the consortium agreement. Those school districts are:

  • Brandon
  • Clarenceville
  • Clarkston
  • Farmington
  • Ferndale
  • Hazel Park
  • Holly
  • Lamphere
  • Madison Heights
  • Novi
  • Oak Park
  • Oxford
  • Southfield
  • Walled Lake

PDF DocumentIA-West Schools of Choice Application 2018-19